The Georgia State Firefighters Association (GSFA) has recently recognized several Georgia firefighters as recipients of its 2013 GSFA Awards. GSFA provides recognition opportunities for outstanding firefighters through its award program. The awards were presented during the 2013 Georgia Fire Service Conference awards banquet held September 14, 2013, in Albany, Ga. These awardees will also be recognized at the Firefighter Recognition Day that will take place Tuesday, February 4, 2013.

Since 1972, GSFA has recognized firefighters through its annual recognition program which includes the following four awards: Firefighter of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Educator of the Year, and the Life Saving Valor Award.

This year’s recipients include:

  • Firefighter of the Year – John Murray, Hall County Fire Services & Lakemont / Wiley Fire Department
  • Rookie of the Year – Matthew White, West Point Fire Department
  • Educator of the Year – Hannah Jenkins, Effingham County Fire Rescue
  • Life Saving Valor Award – Michael Allen and Wesley Morris, Athens-Clarke County Fire & Emergency Services
  • Life Saving Valor Award – Todd Hollaway, Andrew Wilson and Dawson County Emergency Services “B Shift”, Dawson County Emergency Services
  • Life Saving Valor Award – Bo Sprunger, Michael Carroll, Jeff Cooper and Ryan Wyatt, Moultrie Fire Department

Comments are closed.